What I hope my daughter’s life holds

As Madelyn’s mummy, I find myself spending a lot of time dreaming of what the future holds for her. Even though she’s only 10 months old, she’s already had two words from God over her life. The first happened before she was even born. A man visiting our church who had the gift of prophecy said that her life would be full of colour and of song. He spoke of her being joyful and creative. He said she would dance. The second was a few months after she was born, a woman told us that she saw leadership over Madelyn’s life, and that she would be a shepherdess. It makes my heart happy to think of the woman she will grow up to be.

DSCF1674

I hope that she will know she is loved. From the moment I found out I was pregnant with her, I have sung to her, “No matter what you look like, no matter what you do, God loves you…” My greatest hope is that she would never doubt God’s love for her. My prayer is that she would be secure in God’s love, and that she would conduct herself accordingly. I dream of her having the presence of a princess raised in the royal court. I hope that she knows how much she is worth to God.

I hope that she will love God. I hope that she will be saved, and that she will walk on the narrow road to Heaven. My prayer is that she would know Jesus as her Saviour at a young age, and that she would never depart from Him.

I hope that she will love others. I hope that she is compassionate and kind, and that she puts others first. I imagine her being the kind of kid who stands up to bullies for other kids, who makes a difference in her school. I want her to have empathy, and for her to understand that each person is precious to God.

I hope that she will tell people about Jesus. I hope that she will be brave and bold, and loving. My prayer is that God would use her to draw others to Himself, and that her life would be used for His glory.

I hope that she will stand up for justice. I want her to be a voice for the voiceless, and for her to stand up for those who can’t stand for themselves. My prayer is that she would not be able to abide people not having the life they deserve, and that she would be spurred to action. I pray that she will have a strong sense of right and wrong, and that her convictions would be from God.

I hope that she will be merciful and forgiving. Not that she will be a doormat, but that she will understand the complexities of the human heart, and that she would be willing to let go of hurt and anger in order to live her life to the fullest. I hope that she wouldn’t seek revenge, but that she would trust God, knowing that He is working all things together for the good of those who love Him (and I pray that she will love Him).

I hope that she will be all that she was created to be. That she will be happy. That her life will mean something. That she will live forever.

One thought on “What I hope my daughter’s life holds

  1. Some might think you hope for too much, but all of your hopes are attainable if she makes but one commitment in her life. My wife and I are blessed by three children who decided on their own to place Jesus at the center of their lives! I often think my wife was the example and I the alternative; either way, they will live forever!

Leave a Reply

