Seven months old

Our little daughter is seven months old.

DSCF1500

I can’t believe how fast she is growing. It is so exciting to see her learn new skills and try new things. She is such an adorable, happy, cheeky little baby.

014 (2)

Madelyn is so sociable, and still so happy to go to anyone. The other day, I was running late to help teach a dance class, so I just put her on the floor in the waiting room (beside her babysitter) and ran in. Apparently the parents in the waiting room were surprised that I was able to do that, and that she didn’t even cry. She just loves being held and talked to, no matter who it is.

DSCF1529

She’s also starting to recognise her favourite people other than Angus and I, and she gets excited about seeing them. She laughs and smiles as they approach, and gets sad when they leave. It’s so cute that she has friends and favourites. And she has started doing the most wonderful thing – when she’s being held by someone else and sees me, she’ll reach out her arms and lean towards me, making it extremely obvious she wants me to hold her. It melts my heart every single time.

DSCF1355

She has started crawling, but prefers her own individual style. Every now and then she’ll crawl for a couple of seconds, but otherwise she pushes herself right up onto her hands and feet and then kind of flops forward. She gets herself quite high off the ground.

015 (2)

We’ve started a bedtime routine, and she’s really taken to it. We have dinner, and then a bath (I get in the bath with her, it saves finding time to shower during the day). Then we read a story in the dim light, and then I feed her to sleep. I wasn’t sure if a bedtime routine would work to get her to sleep easier, but one night when we got home really late, I decided to skip her routine and she just wouldn’t settle down. So I read her a story, and then she lay straight down and opened her mouth, ready to feed. The past couple of nights I’ve also put her to sleep in her cot, leaning into it to feed her, and then getting her out when she wakes the first time once I’ve gone to sleep. She stresses out when I put her down in her cot, and starts trying to roll back over to me until I feed her, so I can’t tuck her in beforehand. I’m hoping she’ll start to get the idea soon. She does well at staying in her cot for a few hours at the start of the night.

DSCF1450

Her language and speech are really developing. The main sound she makes are “Roo roo roo,” “yee yee yee” and “Ga ga ga” (Update: Two days after she turned 7 months old, she started saying “Dad dad dad,” and two days after that she started saying “Mum mum mum”). A few days ago, her Uncle Isaac was staying with us, and she woke up ready to play at 6:30am. She climbed up on Angus, looked towards the door and yelled out “Ale yee yee!” in the exact tone that she would say “Uncle Isaac!” if she could talk, so Angus took her in to wake him up and she had the time of her life pulling on his chest hairs while Mummy and Daddy slept in. So now we call Isaac Ale Yee Yee.

014

She is so delightful. Angus often smiles at her as she sleeps or feeds and says, “We have a nice baby.” We’re so thankful for her.

Leave a Reply

