10 Blogs I Think You Should Read

I spend a lot of time reading blogs these days. Madelyn is going through a “I won’t nap unless you hold me” stage (which includes, for the moment, not napping in the front pack, because if I’m moving around then she wants to see what’s up), so a good three or four hours of every day, unless I’m out and she sleeps in the car, are spent either at the computer, or on the couch. I am absolutely not complaining, I love this stage in our lives, and am so thankful to have the freedom to hold my sleeping baby every day. But, yeah, it lends itself to a lot of extra blog-reading time.

So I thought it would be fun to share the blogs I’m reading at the moment. This is by no means an exhaustive list of my favourites, but these blogs certainly are among my faves at the moment. You should go over and check them out, I think you’ll really like them too (all links should open a new tab).

1) Solo Mama
I started reading this blog when its author, Lindsay, and I were both pregnant. Her little cutie is only 9 days older than Madelyn, so it’s really fun to see how another mother with a baby the same age copes with life. She’s also into all the some baby stuff as me – breastfeeding, baby-wearing, co-sleeping (though she’s about to move her daughter into her own cot, so I’m looking forward to reading how that goes), baby-led weaning, basically just a whole lot of following her intuition. And her little Evelyn is utterly adorable.

2) Nurse Me Mama
I came across this blog on Facebook (because I spend a lot of time there, too), and I love it. Its author is a lactation consultant, so she has a lot of awesome information about breastfeeding and all that goes along with it, as well as beautiful posts about her family. At the moment, in honour of National Breastfeeding Month, she has been sharing a photo a day of herself breastfeeding her baby, which is such a cool idea that I’m kind of jealous I didn’t think of it myself.

3) Some Stuff About Stuff
This is a blog I’ve just recently started following.  The author, Jessie, has two adorable children, including Sparrow, who is having her third heart surgery at the moment. I’m sure she would appreciate your prayers, but she’s also really talented, and her blog is worth a read.

4) Katesurfs
This is another blog I’ve only just recently started following. Kate, the author, is an American who now lives in Australia. She is another parent who is into doing a lot of the same stuff with her babies as I do. She also does Elimination Communication with her kids, which is really interesting to read about because I’d heard of it before, but hadn’t really understood how it works.

5) Mrs. Odie
Mrs. Odie is like a breath of fresh air, because she doesn’t portray her life as perfectly wonderful, and so many bloggers do. She’s honest, and a very talented writer. Mrs Odie (not her real name) is a high school teacher, and her anonymity allows her to be very candid in her blog posts.

6) The Struggler’s Handbook
I came across this blog a while ago, when the struggler wrote about his daughter’s wedding (his daughter is roughly my age). He is wonderful, as is his lovely wife who has been known to comment on my blog using his WordPress account. He is a fantastic writer, and I love his way of looking at life.

7) Life With Pink Princesses
This is the new-ish blog of a young mum who, I’m pretty sure, lives in the UK. Jodie, the author, shares about her life as the mother of two gorgeous little girls. She has also written a couple of books that are available for purchase, and is a talented writer.

8) Housewifing
This blog provides me with a lot of inspiration for being an amazing housewife. Michele, the author, shares candidly about her life looking after her family. She’s currently doing a Motherhood With A Toddler series, which is a really interesting and informative read.

9) Flow Thyme
I found this blog on the Breastfeeding NZ Facebook page, and I’m so glad I did. The author is another attachment parenting New Zealand mother, with a beautiful baby daughter, Alyssa. I love reading about her life.

10) The Pattys
This is another blog that I started following when I was pregnant, and the author’s little girl is a few months old than Madelyn.

8 thoughts on “10 Blogs I Think You Should Read

  1. Oh my goodness, I am honored and flattered! Thank you so much for adding me to your list. I read a couple others on here, but a few are new to me. Looks like I have some new blogs to add to my reader! I really appreciate this. :) So glad we can watch our girls grow up together, virtually!

  2. I know this is an old post, but I just found your link to my blog and your kind recommendation. Thank you so much for recommending my blog and for writing these flattering words about me!

Leave a Reply

