My little scottie dog player piece

I’ve never been good at dressing up. To be honest, I just can’t be bothered putting all that effort in. Lame, I know, but there it is.

Which is why I am just so excited to share this costume with you. For once, I’m a little bit Martha Stewart-esque.

My husband worked at a Monopoly themed camp, which involved a dress up night. The last camp, with a zoo theme, was easy. She had a stretch-and-grow with a bear on the front, and a beanie with ears – she was a very cute bear. But Monopoly was a bit harder…

And then it hit me! She had a fluffy pink outfit that she’d hadn’t worn that often and was getting too big for…and one of the player pieces in Monopoly is a scottie dog…she could be the scottie dog player piece!

I just bought a blue tartan scarf for $3, and cut it up to make ears, a tail and a little collar/scarf, all of which I sewed onto the pink fluffy outfit. For the collar, I didn’t feel right tying it around her neck, so I sewed it onto the outfit, and then cut it so that it would come open with the buttons.

Now, I might be biased, but the result was an adorable little scottie dog. When we arrived, there was a collective “Awww”

DSCF0883

DSCF0885

DSCF0888

 

DSCF0892

4 thoughts on “My little scottie dog player piece

Leave a Reply

