New blog: Milky Cuddles

I have started another blog, Milky Cuddles, to focus on breastfeeding, and other topics that surround breastfeeding (co-sleeping, baby wearing, extended breastfeeding, milk sharing, etc)

When my daughter was born in February 2013, I found myself, slowly but surely, turning into that Crazy Breastfeeding Lady.

IMG_6192

While pregnant with her, I read every book I could get my hands on: Gina Ford’s The Contended Little BabyThe Womanly Art of Breastfeeding, Gary Ezzo’s On Becoming Baby Wise, Elizabeth Pantley’s The No-Cry Sleep Solution, etc. My husband and I took ideas that we wanted, and threw away the rest. We had a pretty good idea of how we were going to do things. I had this picture in my head of a baby who, while never left to cry, settled happily into her own routine. I thought I was being realistic when I expected that she wouldn’t sleep through the night until 12 weeks old. She was going to stay in our room for at least the first 6 months. I imagined long, blissful walks with her in the pushchair, and getting housework done while she napped in her bassinet.

And then she was born.

I can’t say when, or why, or how, but our instincts took over. She lasted 10 minutes in the hospital bassinet before I brought her into bed with me, and she never left. When we brought her home, she would cry upon being put down, so she was never put down. Her daddy took her out in the front pack, and she napped on my chest. For three weeks, we took turns sleeping at night while the other carefully held her.  She was hungry every hour, and we soon learnt her feeding cues and I fed her the second she indicated hunger. Though I thought I might express milk so that others could feed her from a bottle, it became clear that it wasn’t just the milk she needed, but the skin-on-skin and the comfort that comes from suckling. Anything other than letting her self-wean no longer felt like an option.

It wasn’t until she was 3 months old that I realised that parenting according to our instincts had a name: Attachment Parenting.

Milky Cuddles will be about my experiences as an attachment parenting mama, and a place to share the information that I have gathered. I will, of course, be keeping Sun and Clear Pebbles for Madelyn updates, general life stuff, and whatever else comes into my head. Go and have a look at my other blog, and let me know what you think.

3 thoughts on “New blog: Milky Cuddles

  1. The same thing happened to me: I ditched the books & the advice and followed my intuition. And sure enough, I’m an Attachment Parent! Works for us, very well!

  2. Pingback: Madelyn eats people food | Sun and Clear Pebbles

Leave a Reply

