An open letter to my husband on his 25th birthday

Dear Angus,

Today you have been alive for a quarter of a century. In this time, you have done many things to be proud of. But in all your life so far, I think you can be most proud of the past two weeks. You are an incredible father.

I always knew that you would be, but I still find myself surprised at just how overwhelmingly good you are. There is no way I could have done these past two weeks without you. Thank you for waking up in the dead of the night to make me toast and dry my tears. Thank you for passing me the water when I can’t reach it because I’m feeding Madelyn. Thank you for making me a soft boiled egg every morning. Thank you for turning the DVDs on for me. Thank you for telling me I’m doing a great job. Thank you for laughing with me. Thank you for being a steady, constant, encouraging husband.

I love the look of peace and awe that passes over Madelyn’s face when you hold her and talk to her. She knows her daddy’s voice, and she knows her daddy loves her. She will know the Father heart of God, because she sees it in you.

You are more than I could ever have hoped for. We are so lucky to have you.

I love you.

Your wife,

Courtney

IMG_6007

Leave a Reply

