The Creator is not a careless mechanic (35 weeks and 2 days)

There are less than five weeks until my estimated date of delivery. This is crazy and exciting.

newyearseve

A not-great-quality-but-still-quite-cute photo of Angus and I on New Years Eve

I have been feeling pretty good, just very, very sore. Amazingly, I’ve been handling the heat okay. I’m not handling the extra weight in my pelvis so well.

I’m not feeling that nervous about the birth. I feel entirely confident that my body is able to bring our baby safely into the world. I feel assured that my midwife, and her back-up midwife, know what they are doing. I trust that my support people know my philosophies about birth, and if I have to transfer to the hospital, I know that my husband is more than comfortable with making sure my voice is heard.  It would be so easy to be frightened about giving birth, so I’m being purposeful about what I read and who I talk to. I don’t really want to hear your birth horror story right now. And I don’t really need you to tell me that I’m being naive by not being scared – I’m not saying it won’t hurt, I’m saying chances are I won’t die and I’ll probably even do it again in a few years time. I’ll get through it, and it will be okay. I’m not scared because there’s nothing to be scared of.

I’m extremely excited about meeting our little baby. I am especially excited as my friend, who was 5 weeks more pregnant than me, had her little baby four days ago. I met her (the baby) yesterday and she was just so tiny and sweet. It’s so amazing to think that the baby who has been growing inside my friend is now a little person with a name. I can’t wait to find out my baby’s name, and to see what he or she looks like. I can’t believe there are only a few short weeks to go.

newyearseve2

New Years Eve (33 weeks and 2 days)

“Remember this, for it is as true and true gets: Your body is not a lemon. You are not a machine. The Creator is not a careless mechanic. Human female bodies have the same potential to give birth well as aardvarks, lions, rhinoceri, elephants, moose, and water buffalo. Even if it has not been your habit throughout your life so far, I recommend that you learn to think positively about your body.”
– Ina May Gaskin

6 thoughts on “The Creator is not a careless mechanic (35 weeks and 2 days)

  1. It’s so lovely to hear your positive words! I get excited just reading them, remembering that feeling of excitment of meeting for the first time the precious little person you made! It still amazes me and it truely is the most wonderful thing in the world to become a mum! Enjoy every moment as I’m sure you do and thank you for taking the time to read my first little blog post, I look forward to getting to know you, Melinda

Leave a Reply

