My husband, the emergency medical technician

In my last blog post, I mentioned that my next blog would contain exciting news that was up there with “I’m having a baby!”…

One thing I may not have mentioned on this blog (though our friends and family will know already) is that my husband has been studying to become an EMT. He’s had to do it part time, as he needs to work full time, so he’s been volunteering at the local ambulance station doing night shifts once week, and has been attending block courses. The big examination at the end of the course is a massive interview. They suggest setting aside two or three hours for this interview, it’s quite intense, and in order to pass you can’t get anything wrong. It involves not only being able to remember all that has been learnt during the course, but also being able to effectively communicate that, and have good rationale for ambulance jobs that you have volunteered on. They don’t just look for knowledge, they look for competence, calm under pressure, experience. You have two chances to sit the interview, and a lot of people don’t pass the first time round.

My husband’s interview was this Tuesday. He has been using every spare second he’s had to study. He really, really, really wanted to pass, so he’s been absolutely dedicated to ensuring he’s in the best position to do so.

His interview was at 1:30pm. Remember how I said the interview usually takes 2 or 3 hours? At 2:30, he sent me a text saying “Yay, I passed.” His interview only lasted 45 minutes! I’d planned what I’d say if he passed (and if he didn’t, though I was sure he would), but when he text me two hours earlier then I thought he would, all I could say was “Already?!”

The two men interviewing him said that some of his rationale was better than what they could do. They said they’d see him at the ILS  (Intermediate Life Support) course in about two years. They said that they’d call the district manager and tell her how much she wanted to keep him in the area, and to offer him a job. My husband is smart. And impressive. I am so proud.

This means that he can apply for a full time, paid position at an ambulance station. Being so well-liked by those who run the course is a good position to be in.

He worked so hard to achieve this. It’s been what he’s wanted to do for so long. I am so proud of him, I could burst.

2 thoughts on “My husband, the emergency medical technician

  1. Pingback: Top 12 of 2012 | Mourning. Heaven. And you

Leave a Reply

