5 for Five: Week 1

My internet has been down all week, so I wasn’t able to write up my five goals at the start of the week. But, I am just in time for the end of the week, so that is okay.

 

So, here are my goals for the past week, and how I did on them:

1) Cook dinner at least two nights this week 
Success! I know that seems a bit pathetic, but I’ve always really struggled with cooking dinner. My poor husband usually has to fend for himself. On nights that I work, I’m always so tired by the time I get home that the last thing I feel like doing is cooking. On nights that I’m home, I just get distracted. My timetable has changed a bit this term, so now I only have one class (dancing, to teach) on Wednesdays and one class on Thursdays, meaning I only have to go into town for an hour or so each of those days, rather then having to be at work for three or four hours for those two classes on Thursdays. I don’t know why, but it feels a whole lot more manageable. On Wednesdays I teach from 6pm -7pm. We had crumbed chicken stuffed with honey mustard, garlic potatoes and broccoli. I got it all ready before I left, and then my husband put the chicken in the oven at 7. After stopping at the supermarket to buy some potatoes, I got home at exactly the perfect time to cook the potatoes and broccoli while the chicken still cooked, and it was all ready at the same time. It was so much fun eating with my husband. The only problem was that I underestimated how much I would eat, and so there were no leftovers. On Thursdays I teach from 3pm-4:15pm, and my husband plays soccer with people from his work, so he was going to be out until about 7:30pm. We planned to have steak, garlic potatoes (I’m going through a bit of a phase) and mixed vegetables, but my husband called shortly before I left to go and teach, to ask if I minded if two guys from his work came over for dinner. I freaked out that there wouldn’t be enough potatoes, but they each bought a frozen pizza, so they all had steak and pizza for dinner, and I had a bit of steak and all the potatoes all to myself. It’s a bit silly how proud I am that we had dinner twice this week, but I am extremely proud.

2) Apart from studying, spend less than an hour a day on the internet
This was an extremely easy one to accomplish, because I had no choice due to the internet being down. Again, I’m revealing a rather pathetic side of my life, but I just find it so easy to be distracted by the internet. It doesn’t help that I eat information with the same voracity as I eat garlic potatoes at the moment, so all I need is to see one little thing that interests me, and suddenly I’ve spent the whole day reading about it. And don’t even get me started on YouTube. It feels good not to have used the internet at all this week. It’s funny how little I want to use it now that I can.

3) Start on my final assignment
I couldn’t accomplish this one due to the internet being down. But, if I’m honest, I probably wouldn’t have, anyway. Ugh, I need to get on to that.

4) Fold and put away all the clean washing in our house
We had roughly six loads of clean washing sitting in piles in our lounge and our bedroom. Apart from a pile of my husband’s t-shirts, I am please to announce that it is all folded and put away. My only problem is that it has inspired my husband to try and empty the washing basket again, which means there will be more for me to put away very, very soon, and putting away washing is the one job that I avoid to the point of insanity.

5) Sort through all my clothes and pack away those which won’t fit now that I’m pregnant
I started to accomplish this, but it was a far bigger job then I anticipated. I sorted through all my dresses and skirts. I had roughly 50 dresses and skirts in my wardrobe, no exaggeration. I now have 15. I had two or three on each hanger, and now I have hangers left over. It’s a bit insane. What’s even more insane is that I still have 15 skirts and dresses.

It was fun to accomplish goals, if I’m honest. I’m looking forward to the accountability of sharing my new ones at the start of next week.

2 thoughts on “5 for Five: Week 1

  1. These are such great goals! I don’t know if I’d be able to do the 1hr time limit on the internet one! I think it’d be a great thing to try though :) Thanks for linking up- can’t wait to hear what you’ve got in store for next week!

Leave a Reply

