11 weeks and 1 day

29.07.2012

I woke up in the middle of the night with my stomach in knots.

It hit me, I am 11 weeks pregnant. Only two more weeks until I’m out of that scary first trimester. I really am probably going to have a baby in February.

I’m nervous about being a parent. I don’t feel ready for it yet. I’ve always known abstractly how I will raise my children. I’ve known what I want our family values to be, what the rules will be around dating, what schools they’ll go to depending on where we live. But when it comes down to actually giving birth, and then having a real life newborn baby, that’s a whole different thing. Suddenly it’s not abstract anymore. This is really happening.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m really excited. I’m just also really nervous. Up until now, my biggest concern is about the baby staying alive. Now it’s starting to hit me that the baby probably will stay alive, and will be here before I know it.

In other news, I’m feeling better. I still feel sick at least once a day, but it’s a huge improvement from feeling sick all day every day, and throwing up at least once a day. I am so, so happy about this, because I didn’t think I could take much more of it.

My 12 week scan is in about 10 days. I am so excited. I’m a lot less nervous then the last one, because I’ve had one be fine. I’m a little bit worried that I’ve had a missed miscarriage, but I just keep reminding myself that they are rare, and that I’m still having pregnancy symptoms (if a little diminished). I’m looking forward to being able to relax.

6 thoughts on “11 weeks and 1 day

  1. I may have missed this, but have you mentioned what your estimated due date is? I’m curious since my baby is a February baby too. :) She was born on Valentine’s day – two days past her estimated due date.

  2. When is your baby due? My son (now 14) was born Feb 27th and even though it’s a while ago, I remember so much of what you are experiencing. Thanks for sharing such a special time in your life.

    • My baby is due in mid – late February, I’m reluctant to say the exact date because I know first babies have a habit of being late and I really want to avoid all the Facebook comments and texts saying “Any sign of Baby yet?” haha. Oh, the complications of modern communication! Thanks for reading my blog, I’m really glad you enjoy it (it’s always nice to know that what you’re writing is appreciated).

Leave a Reply

