On homosexuality and how I feel about it as a Christian

With a bill going through parliament in New Zealand at the moment that will allow homosexual and transgender couples to get married, there is a lot of discussion going on around me about gay marriage. As a Christian, I have a lot of friends who are particularly angry and frustrated about this bill, and are venting about this on Facebook. I have avoided these discussions, because I don’t want to say the wrong thing. But I do want to share here what my views are.

I started to explore the morality of homosexuality when I was a teenager, which I think is fairly standard among young Christians. It was around this time that I began to meet more homosexaul, bisexual and transgendered people, and became more aware of sexuality in and of itself. The big question, of course, is whether or not it is a choice. And then, if it is not a choice, is it still a sin? I came to many conclusions about this before reaching the one I now hold, and had many discussions with many different people. But I never felt entirely comfortable with speaking vehemently against homosexuality, as so many Christians do.

I’m not even going to share here what my opinion is on the morality of homosexuality. I’ve chosen not to share this because, simply put, I don’t feel it’s important. As a Christian person, I feel that it’s far more important to look at the way I myself relate to homosexual, bisexual and transgender people, because the sad fact is that many are being made to feel rejected and unloved by the Christians in their lives.

Most Christians are very focused on telling people about the love of God, though most of us do it not nearly as much as we should. We tell people that God will accept them for who they are, that He loves them and created them, and died for them.

And then we meet a gay person…

And for some reason, many Christians seem to think it’s different for a gay person. It’s like they think that they need to convince that person of their sinfulness before letting them know about God’s love. Like being gay is the one thing that God won’t accept in a person.

I heard Sy Rogers speak once, and he said something that has always stuck with me:

“Gay people don’t go to hell because they’re gay. People go to hell because they’re not reconciled to God.”

Straight people go to hell. Straight people who live good lives and do everything right go to hell. Because the determining factor is not what we do, but what Jesus Christ did for us.

I wonder what would happen if, instead of quoting Leviticus and saying “God made Adam and Eve, not Adam and Steve” to that gay person in our lives, we befriended them. Invited them over for dinner. Went out to the movies with them. Babysat their children. Asked them how their day was going. They are people, and they deserve to be treated as such.

When we meet an alcoholic who doesn’t know Christ, we don’t point out all that the Scriptures say about drunkeness. When we meet a theif who doesn’t know Christ, we don’t point out all that the Scriptures say about stealing. If we’re showing people who don’t know Christ the Bible, we tend to show them the Gospel. We show them that God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through Him.

Why does that suddenly change because of who the person is in love with?

“For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life.For God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through Him”
John 3:16-17

5 thoughts on “On homosexuality and how I feel about it as a Christian

  1. Amen Courtney. I feel strongly that as Christians we are called to love everyone just as Christ did and yet I think too often we fail because we choose who deserves to be loved. Being homosexual makes you no less loved by God who looks at His children and loves them unconditionally. We have it wrong, not God and who are we to challenge God on whom we should love? Great post Courtney.

  2. This is so true and well written too. Preaching Jesus is easy but being like Him is so much more what He requires of us. and He is all about love. Not condemnation or criticism or hate. God is all about love.

  3. So adeptly put, that “it’s not about what we do, but what Jesus Christ did for us.” To me, a sin is a sin is a sin. We all have things to answer for, and who are we to say what’s in someone’s heart, which is the truest test of their salvation?

  4. Pingback: Top 12 of 2012 | Mourning. Heaven. And you

Leave a Reply

