This is love

 

He leaves the heater on when he does a night shift at the ambulance, so that it’s warm when I get home from work.

He encouraged me to go to the South Island on Wednesday even though we’re trying to save money, because I’ve never been.

He booked my flights to the South Island for me.

He makes me food while I spend all day writing essays that I should have done a week ago.

He checks the oil in my car and pumps up my tires for me because I always forget to do it myself.

He cooks yummier dinners then I do most of the time.

He came as soon as I called him when I hurt my ankle, and didn’t make me feel like a knob for needing him in that moment.

He thinks about what would make me happy.

He is so patient with me.

He puts my wants and needs above his own.

This is how God showed His love among us: He sent His one and only Son into the world that we might live through Him. This is love: not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins. Dear friends, since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another.”
1 John 4:9-11

(The painting was done by Deborah Tetlow http://www.deborahtetlow.co.nz)

5 thoughts on “This is love

  1. Pingback: Top 12 of 2012 | Mourning. Heaven. And you

Leave a Reply

