It’s been awhile…

I’m sorry it’s been so long.

Since having left my last job, life has been significantly less busy but far more full. I’ve got a lot of photos of a particularly awesome part of the last few months that I want to share, but most of the photos are on my husband’s phone, so that will have to wait. I figured for now, I should just catch you up.

At the time of my last life related blog post, I was a week away from finishing working in full time ministry. That was a crazy time for me, because I’d spent most of my life leading up to the moment where I would work in full time ministry, and now I was coming to the end of it. It was quite surreal. Now, I teach 11 dance classes and two Bible-in-Schools classes a week, am finally finishing my English degree, and am trying really, really hard to be a domestic goddess. Our house has become that which we always wished it would be – people feel comfortable enough here that they come over just to hang out with us and we don’t even need to entertain them.

1. Dancing

I am loving my job. I get to be creative and hang out with children – two of my favourite things. There is something so wonderful about watching children dance and knowing that they can do that because you taught them how. I get a real sense of accomplishment watching a dance I choreographed be performed on stage, more so then I ever got performing myself. I love seeing kids achieve their goals, and I love the thought that I might be a positive influence in their lives. My hope is that one day, should any of my students ever need to talk to an adult about something and they feel they can’t talk to their parents, that they would trust me enough to come to me. 

I’m really conscious of their confidence, and my greatest fear is that I would effect this negatively. All of my students are wonderful, I absolutely love them, and I hope that I would never make any of them feel otherwise. I worry about it, sometimes to the point of being a little bit nuts, because I know the power a dance teacher has over their students. I’m really aware of not making them feel bad about their bodies, and I worry that this will naturally happen anyway because of the nature of dance. I’m so fortunate to work for a woman who is determined not to let this become an issue in her school, and I think so far she’s been really successful in that.

I have some really talented, determined students. I’m so excited, because I can see them going so far in dance. At the start of this term, my boss, one other teacher and I went to Auckland to watch the SDNZ hip hop national championships and then attend an RGDANCE seminar, and we came back so inspired. The energy in classes since then has been incredible. I hope we keep it up. The kids have really caught on to our inspiration, and the different in them is incredible. I’ve spoken to so many parents who have said stuff like “I walked into the laundry, and she was in there stretching!” and “Every time she sees a wall, she does the wall split stretch!” It’s really awesome. I can’t wait to see the improvement in these kids.

2. My husband

He is good. I have the most wonderful husband. He does night shifts at the ambulance, because he’s studying to be an EMT, so at least once a week I will come home from work two hours after he’s left. Every time, he leaves the heat pump and the little heater in our bedroom on for me. He is so thoughtful. I adore him.

He’s doing really well in his study. He had a meeting with one of the tutors, who told him he would make a great advanced paramedic (several steps up from EMT), so I’m really proud of him about that.

My man really is incredible. He’s a great leader, he’s logical, he’s honest, he’s caring. I feel so lucky to be married to him.

3. Friends

The saddest part of this whole post is that five of my really good friends are moving overseas/going home (overseas) in the month of June. I’m planning trips to see all of them, but that doesn’t change the fact that, until then, I’m not going to have those people as part of my every day life any more.

But other then that, we’re seriously living the coolest life in regards to friends at the moment. My husband loves having people over to our house, and since we’ve moved into a proper house (more about that to come in a later blog post), we have the room for me to actually be able to stand it. People come over to our house all the time and, believe it or not, I actually love it. One weekend, we had a whole bunch of people over after church on Friday night for fish and chips. Very early the next morning, my husband took a few of them out water skiing, and then they all came back to have pancakes for breakfast. The best part though, was that a couple of them stayed until about 4 o’ clock that afternoon, just hanging out in our house. I love that people feel comfortable enough in our house to do that. I hope we always make people feel so welcome.

4. Other little things

I have so much going on in my head. I’m putting together a program for primary-aged children that I don’t really want to say much more about, because I’m not ready to hear opinions yet (haha).

I’m really enjoying studying, and I am so thankful that my husband works hard so that I can do what I want to do. I’ve got marks for my first two assignments – an A, and a B+. I’m pretty happy with that, considering it’s been three years since I last studied.

I love teaching Bible-in-Schools. I feel so privileged to be able to go into schools and tell kids about Jesus.

Oh! and:

5. Daphne

I got a kitten. This is a photo of her the day we got her – on my birthday back in January. She’s now quite a lot bigger.

Officially, her name is Daphne, but I don’t think she knows that. Everyone just calls her Kitten.

She’s a bit nuts. She’s so playful, I don’t think she ever sits still. When we first got her, she was so tiny and such a baby. We had to ask my friend to babysit her while we went out for lunch for my birthday, because she got stuck behind the freezer. The first night, she cried and cried and cried, so we let her come into our room. She just walked around the bed all night, and every time she fell off she couldn’t get back up again, so she cried and I had to get up and put her back on our bed. After that, we shut her out of our room every night until about a week ago. Now she sleeps on the foot of our bed. It’s a bit sad, she’s growing up. At first, she didn’t know how to play. Now we can’t get her to stop playing. She is the exact perfect kitty for us, we wouldn’t have liked a boring, quiet cat.

So… that’s life at the moment. I’ll try not to let it be so long before I write again. In fact, I’ll try to do one tomorrow.

“There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.”
– Albert Einstein
Leave a Reply

