What I now know about life… (Part 2)

For the next few days, I will be going through some of the major life lessons I learnt while working in full time ministry for three years. You can find Part 1 here

Now, for Part 2:

It’s not all about me.

This was a big lesson, and one that I learnt over and over again.

As humans, we so desperately want to feel significant. We want our hard work to be acknowledged, we want people to admire and respect us, we want to feel important. Our pride doesn’t like the hard hit it takes when we feel insignificant.

Working in ministry is often a very thankless job. So often I haven’t gotten the recognition that I’ve thought I deserved. I haven’t felt thanked. I haven’t felt significant. I haven’t felt encouraged. I haven’t felt like I’ve been rewarded for my hard work (more on this one soon). And so I’ve found myself at times fighting to feel significant, getting stroppy, trying to make people see how hard I work and how amazing I am.

But it never turns out the way I want it to.

Why?

Because it’s not all about me.

I didn’t start working here because I wanted to be glorified. I started working here because I wanted God to be glorified through my life. Unfortunately there have been times where, in the craziness of life in ministry, I have forgotten this and started working for the earthly gain of pride.

God has taught me over and over again about humility. There have been times where I have been so wounded by being over-looked or pushed aside, that I have said “No, God, please don’t teach me humility again. I’ve had enough of humility, I can’t take any more lessons on this.” But then He always reminds me that I am a work in process and then – if that’s not enough – that He humbled Himself for me. Jesus, who was there when the universe was created, put on the skin of a human being and humbled Himself first through His life and then through His death, so that God would be glorified and we would be saved. If He isn’t above being humbled for God’s glory, then why should I expect that I am?

“Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time.”
1 Peter 5:6

5 thoughts on “What I now know about life… (Part 2)

  1. Pingback: What I now know about life… (Part 3) « Mourning. Heaven. And you.

  2. Pingback: What I know now about life… (Part 4) « Mourning. Heaven. And you.

  3. Pingback: Top 12 of 2012 | Mourning. Heaven. And you

Leave a Reply

