Once upon a time…

My husband and I met when I was fifteen and he was sixteen while leading at a Christian children’s camp. It was at this camp that I’d become a Christian when I was 9 years old, and I’d been to almost every Kids Camp since then. My husband used to go to Family Camp with his family, and it was there that the person running Kids Camp at the time suggested he come and lead.

He wasn’t anything like the boys I usually hung out with. He was innocent, but not in a childish way. More in a purposeful way, as if he’d guarded his heart against the things of this world. He carried himself with the maturity of someone years older. The boys in his cabin always adored him. We both used to go to the “Chat Room” after devotions – a place where the kids could go to ask questions – and we’d smile at each other across the room, both of us thriving off talking to children about God. One time, I got to sit next to him on the bus on the way home, and my heart was beating so loud I was sure he could hear it.  My journal from this time is filled with the hope of marrying someone like him – it never occured to me that I would actually get to marry him.

Several years later, when we first started courting, I found out that he liked me too, all that time. In fact, the time we sat next to each other on the bus? It was no accident.

He finished school and got a job working on a dairy farm, and so stopped coming to Kids Camp and we lost touch. Two months after I finished school, just before I started university, I got a new cell phone and so sent out a group text letting everyone know my new cell phone number. He replied, and from there we started talking again. His birthday was coming up, and he was having a barbeque, which he invited me to go to. I desperately wanted to go, but I lived two hours away and couldn’t drive. No problem. He called his ex-girlfriend and asked if she would take me to the barbeque. I stayed the night (not like that!) and he drove me back up in the morning, because he was having lunch with his grandparents (his family live in the same area as I did at the time). He was meant to just drop me off at church, but stayed, and then asked me if I wanted to go to his grandparents’ house with him.

Now, when I go to my grandparents’ house for lunch, it’s usually just my grandparents and maybe my parents. Apparently not so with his family. My husband is the oldest of six siblings. His mum is the oldest of six siblings. All but one of her siblings have four children, the youngest one has two toddlers. Everyone in his extended family was there for lunch, apart from the youngest aunty and her husband and children. We turned up at his grandparents’ house, and all 20-odd grandchildren were at the door, waiting to meet the girl with Angus. I’m extremely shy and very introverted. It was a bit awkward, to say the least.

That evening, we went to the church he’d gone to when he was still living at home. Everyone wanted to talk to him, because he hadn’t been in ages. But thankfully I knew several people there, including his sister, who I was friends with seperately to him (we’d met at youth group a few years before).  After church, we went and sat on the beach and talked for ages. Eventually, I asked him what was up between us, and he said “I don’t know, I was just about to ask the same thing… Do you want a boyfriend?” I replied “Yeah, I guess so. Do you want a girlfriend?” to which he said “Yeah”

And then he kissed me.

“Remember tonight… for it is the beginning of always”
– Dante Alighieri
4 thoughts on “Once upon a time…

  1. Courtney, you have no idea how much this cheered up my Wednesday morning :) Angus told me this story one time in The Bach ( but made himself out as a tough guy), and I love it! You two taught me a lot and one day, I hope I can be just like you! x

Leave a Reply

