Can we dance all night?

This week at dancing was one of those weeks that reminds me exactly why I do this, which I was so thankful for because I started off the day with a complete lack of motivation.

First, I have discovered that teaching the littlies is kind of like being a children’s show host. I’ve developed this admittedly kind of lame routine where I say “Now, where do our hands go when we’re skipping? Do they go on our…head?” (while placing my hands on my head) and they all giggle with delight and yell “No!” So then I reply “Where do they go? You show me” and they all put their little hands on their hips. This carries over into everything – “What do our feet look like? Do they look like… a farmer’s feet?” (and I flex my feet), “What do our faces look like? Do they look… grumpy?”, “How do we stand? Do we… slouch?” They get a kick out of it every time.

But the funniest part is that I tried it with my next class up (6 and 7 year olds), and they all looked at me like I was a freak and said “Um, no, your feet are pointed.”

This week I just had so many moments where my heart melted and I could see the bigger picture of why I teach dancing. It’s so easy to get caught up in just trying to get the technique taught and the dances done. I was so grateful for the little reminders to slow down and be purposeful about creating a positive, supportive environment where confidence can be built.

By far the best moment of the night happened in my last class (10 – 13 year olds),  and it happened so fast and so quietly that I almost missed it.

One of the girls said “I don’t want to leave yet. Can we stay and dance all night?”

Leave a Reply

