A bit of insanity in dancing

I know, it’s been ages since I last wrote a blog. A lot of what I do I can’t legally blog about, and that’s been all I’ve been thinking about lately. But my good friend, Rachel, just went back to England after living here in New Zealand for 6 months, and she used to be my person who would hear all my funny stories from the dance classes I taught. She pointed out to me that I haven’t written a blog in two months, and also mentioned that she missed me brightening her Wednesdays with my stories about dancing. So, because it will soon be Wednesday morning for Rachel, I decided to make all her dreams come true in one go.

First, a little light comedy in the format of “kids say the darndest things.” For my littlies, we make pizzas to help us stretch. We sit in a circle, with our legs out to make ‘pizza slices’ and then we go around the circle and choose one thing we want to put on the pizza (the whole class then puts that one thing on the pizza), then we ‘put it in the oven to cook it’ (we lean forward and hold it for a bit), and then we eat the pizza (they go crazy). So yesterday, my 5 and 6 year olds and I were making our pizza, and we got to this one little cutie. When I asked her what she wanted on her pizza, she said “I want a strawberry pizza, and with that I want chocolate chips, sprinkles, cake and yoghurt.” So I was like “You want a strawberry pizza with chocolate chips, sprinkles, cake and yoghurt on your pizza?” and she replied “No. Ham”

Now for some drama. I was teaching my 7 and 8 year olds, and in the middle of running through the CUTEST DANCE EVER (to Itsy Bitsy Teenie Weenie Yellow Polka Dot Bikini), one of my 9 and 10 year olds (next class up) came in and told me that one of the girls had fallen and hurt her ankle really badly. I asked if there were any adults out in the waiting room, and she said there weren’t, so I started the music again and told the girls to do the dance and then if they finished before I got back, just to keep dancing. I went out to the waiting room where the little girl was lying on the ground crying, and her ankle was swollen like nothing else. And I realised that I had no idea where I might find some ice. I sent one of the girls to grab my cell phone, and another one into the class to start and stop the music, and my first thought was to call my husband because he’ll know what to do, haha. By the time the little girl got back with my phone, I’d actually thought it through, evelated her foot, and called my boss to ask where some ice was and to see if I could call the girl’s mum. She said she’d call her mum, and told me that there was a freezer in the kitchen in the church. Just as I got off the phone to her, another little girl arrived with her mum and I just breathed a sigh of relief. I asked her to play musical statues with the 7 and 8 year olds while I went into the church to find some ice. I got to the freezer, and all that was in there was bread. So, bread it was. I came back out into the waiting room and put frozen bread on the poor girl’s ankle, and got her sitting up, and then went back into the studio to finish teaching the 7 and 8 year olds (I thanked the mum profusely and asked her to sit with the little girl until her mum got there). I got back into the studio in time to stretch with the girls, and then gave them each a huge sticker for being so mature. Once I’d let them out and the next class in, I went to check on the little girl (her mum had arrived by now), and she said that she wanted to stay and watch her class. So we helped her hobble in and she and her mum stayed and watched. Her mum sent me a message on Facebook to say that her ankle seems to be just bruised, which is a huge positive. I love our dancers, and I love our dance mums.

And finally, some violence. Last week, I was teaching my 11 and 12 year olds a new leap and they were going across the floor in pairs, when I heard a huge bang. I looked to the back of the studio, where there was a very embarrassed looking young lady, and a foot sized hole in the wall. I honestly stood there for about 30 seconds with my hand over my mouth before finally turning the music off and going over to check out the situation. She was fine, just worried that she’d get in trouble. It was mainly just really funny. The stories that came out of it have been even funnier. Some people have heard that she broke her leg, others have heard that it was a completely different girl then who it was (like, she’s not even in that class). This week, there’s another little hole lower down, so we joked that some little kid thought it was so cool that they wanted to make a hole too.

I love my little dancers. They are some of the coolest kids in the world.

There is a bit of insanity in dancing that does everybody a great deal of good. 
– Edwin Denby

3 thoughts on “A bit of insanity in dancing

  1. Oh Courtney What a delight to get to read some more from your little world. I have missed Courtney posts (: Your little dance class sounds just lovely <3

  2. Courtney, you certainly brightened up my Wednesday :)
    The pizza story is by far my favourite, if not just because when you said “chocolate chips” I thought you meant chips made of chocolate.. like Maccas fries but not potato. Obviously had your addiction on my mind!
    Frozen bread?! Oh Courtney! I’m sure Angus was so proud!!
    How did she manage to make a hole in the wall – overzealous leaping?!
    This really has made my day! I’ve been feeling like rubbish, and watching Jeremy Kyle all afternoon! So thank you!
    :D x

Leave a Reply

