What I want my dancers to learn from me

As a dance teacher, I recognise that I have a significant amount of influence over the children I teach. My dance teachers have been among the most influential people in my life. That is a lot of responsibility. I don’t want to just let myself fly by and accidently influence my dancers in whatever way it may be. I want to be purposeful. So I’ve made a list of what I want my dancers to learn from me, not just in dance, but in life.

1. Confidence
I want my dancers to have confidence in themselves and their abilities. I want them to learn to put doubts aside and to concentrate on the positive aspects of their personality and achievements. I want them to believe in themselves, and I want them never to be driven by “I can’t.”

2. Determination and Perseverance
I want my students to work hard. I want them to be able to set goals and to see them through to completion. I want them to not just be happy with the status quo, but to constantly strive to better their situations and their world. I want them to never give up, never back down and always try again when it comes to something that is important to them.

3. Responsibility
I want my dancers to learn the sense of achievement that comes with taking responsibility for themselves. I want them to know that they won’t improve in dancing until they take responsibility for their own improvement, and I want that to translate into whatever they decide to do with their lives. I want them to be able to assess themselves and be able to recognise what needs to be done to get to where they want to go.

4. Effort and Hard Work
I want my students to work harder then anyone else in whatever they do. I want them to see the benefits of being the one who puts the most effort in. I want them to learn integrity through practising at home, when I’m not there watching them, and by using the corrections that I give others, not just the ones they get themselves.

5. Passion
I want them to love what they do. I want them to recognise why it matters to them, and I want them to learn to let that passion drive them. 

“It is the supreme art of the teacher to awaken joy in creative expression and knowledge”
Charles M. Dickinson

Leave a Reply

