The first six months

Today is our 6 month anniversary.

This time a year ago, it was finally starting to hit me that we’d be getting married so very soon. This time 6 months ago, I was surrounded by so many of my favourite women and girls, preparing myself for the moment that my groom would first see me.

In fact, I think it was exactly this time 6 months ago that we were eating McDonalds for breakfast and discussing what to do about the power situation (the situation being that there was no power).

The first day of my marriage still stands as the best day of my life. So often I find myself looking over the photos and remembering the restfulness I felt in his presence that day.

But the most exciting part is that our wedding day was only the beginning. I won’t go so far as to say that every day since then has been just as wonderful, but the rest, inspiration, support and becoming-me-ness I get from our marriage has suprised me. I never knew that love would be so beautiful.

Our first 6 months of marriage have been an awfully big adventure. 

We have survived a summer where it was too hot in the evenings to eat inside. We have had food fights and water fights and farted on each other.

We have celebrated with friends as they have gotten married or pregnant, prayed with friends as they have made life-changing decisions, welcomed new friends, and cried with friends as they have strugggled with infertility. We have found a new church, and a new church family.

We have eaten at fantastic restaurants and pigged out on McDonalds. He has lectured me about my eating habits, and I have used “But I need to cook you dinner” as an excuse not to do other things countless times. 
 

We have bought and sold three trucks. We have gone on adventures, and he has pushed me out of my comfort zone. Including belaying me as I climbed to the very top of the rock wall, despite my fear of heights, and sitting behind me on the bike as I navigated the motorcross track he has built. Both times, his attitude was simply “Don’t be silly, of course you can do it.” And both times, I did it.

We have loved each other.

Six months, admittedly is not the big one. There will be two big ones for us. First, on our 8th anniversary, when we will surpass the number of years my parents were married. And second, on our 26th anniversary, when we will have beat his parents. But still, I will celebrate this small achievement, and I will look forward to the next 60 (or more) years celebrating small achievements – and a few big ones along the way.

“Love does not begin and end the way we seem to think it does. Love is a battle, love is a war, love is a growing up.”
James A. Baldwin

4 thoughts on “The first six months

  1. loving all the positivity about marriage I am bumping into….gives a single girl so much hope for the future!!! pray you have a beautiful 26 years and then a thousand more together!!

    • Thank you :)

      I’m loving all the postivity about marriage that has been around lately too, especially because it took me over an hour of going through marriage quotes before I could find one positive enough for this blog. It really is very fun being married! (At least so far, haha)

  2. Love is a wonderful thing. Makes you feel like you can do anything as long as you’re with the love of your life. My first 2 years, I call it honeymoon phase. The third, time for a baby phase . The third – 5th , should we have another one after going through the terrible two’s phase. And the 7th, we can beat the odds phase as long live is alive and kicking! It was nice to see you both happy and having the adventure of your lives together. It reminded me of what it was when I just got married. Cherish each, more during times of trials. A great, fun post.

Leave a Reply

