Matrimony

“To love would be an awfully big adventure”
– J.M. Barrie

I sit in one of those unusual moments where I seem not to exist yet. Everything I do is overshadowed by the fact that my life will be abundantly, irrevocably changed in just 5 weeks. Here in this moment, I can feel my heart writhing. It’s curious that people describe marriage as a prison, as being trapped. As I sit in waiting, I can only imagine it as freedom. My entire being is bursting to love my husband, and I don’t see how one would be trapped by having the freedom to do so.

Every so often, I am struck by how fortunate I am to be the one he will marry. I can’t quite believe, that out of all the people he could have married, I will be it. If I tried, if I sat down for hours and daydreamed, still I could not come up with an idea for a more incredible person, and certainly not for someone more perfect for me. He is everything I need. But he’s more, too. I don’t know if words can even describe it, but I’m going to try. Because right now, if I weren’t so self-controlled, I might be inclined to shout it from the rooftops.

He’s just so good at everything he tries. He is so smart. He’s pratical and logical and an amazing dancer.

He is more compassionate than what he’s often given credit for. The depth of his understanding is sometimes unbelievable. This is meant to be one of my gifts – not his – but knowing that there are times where he’s better than me at it just makes me respect him even more.

He commands respect. He carries himself with the air of someone much older. People are drawn to him. He is likeable, but more then that. People hold their breath around him.

He is funny, and remarkably quick with words.

He is strong and brave. He inherently trusts God. He has taught me so much over the last three years about faith. Nothing phases him, because he knows that he’s in God’s hands.

Looking ahead, I know that he will be a fantastic father. I just can’t stop smiling whenever I think of how lucky my children are to have him.

I am so secure in his love. I can’t wait to grow with him. I think the thing I admire most about him is that he would die for me. He would actually die for me, and that makes all the difference.

I am excited about my adventure with him.

Leave a Reply

